Learning and Writing About Camp Zaartari – The Power Of Bringing The World Into The Classroom

Camp Zaartari

This morning I had reason to question whether I was getting the message across in my classroom about unity and caring about each other what ever colour, religion or gender you are. The refugees in Zaartai are example of communities and families torn apart for reasons above them. By the world coming together and uniting, Camp Zaartari exists and it is allowing families to live their lives, not the way they want because they want to be in their homes but they have a chance.

Today we will learn about more about Zaartari and describe the camp as if you were there. We will brain storm words, feelings and write using our descriptive language.

 
Photographer and journalist Martin Edstrรถm has put together an immersive and insightful document of Zaatari refugee camp in Jordan.

http://zaatari360.martinedstrom.com

zaatari_screen

 

  One thought on “Learning and Writing About Camp Zaartari – The Power Of Bringing The World Into The Classroom

  1. Tamara
    May 27, 2015 at 3:47 am

    The zaatari camp is awesome because the people talk to me and the other buildings have people that live in the houses in zaatari camp that came to the place where the zaatari camp that they call it the zaatari camp for themselves made m Joyce.

  2. Peace
    May 27, 2015 at 6:55 am

    It was really cool! ๐Ÿ˜€ Ever time you move the I-pad moved as well. ๐Ÿ™‚ :p

  3. Peace
    May 27, 2015 at 6:55 am

    It was really cool! ๐Ÿ˜€ Ever time you move the I-pad moved as well. ๐Ÿ™‚ :p 4e

  4. Fawaaz
    October 10, 2016 at 7:18 am

    It will feel horrible if I was living there. If I was there, I would give people food for free because they deserve it. It’s extremely dry. Also I feel sad because now(2016) we have Ipods, Iphones,ipads, and high-tec computers and they don’t have electricity or any devices like Xboxs.

    • michaela
      October 13, 2016 at 8:17 am

      I would feel horrible because these people have nothing. No food, no water, no bed, no house, no anything. They only have each other and rely on them for most of their life. Even though they have each other, which is really good, they don’t have any luxuries. That’s why i feel really bad for the people, and i hope i can make planet Earth a better place for everyone. That way they can have basic things to rely on, as well as their families.

      • TOBI
        October 16, 2016 at 4:48 am

        I feel sorry for the people that live in the camp because they are probably really scared. I can’t believe that they have no decent food or water. I especially feel bad for the children because they have no idea what is going on. I wonder when their suffering is going to end.

  5. TOBI
    October 16, 2016 at 4:36 am

    I feel so sorry for the people that live in the refugee camp because they would be in constant fear. I can’t believe that they have no decent food or hot water. I especially feel bad for the children because they would have no idea what is going on and I’m sure some of the children’s parents are either dead or lost. I wonder when all their suffering will stop.

Leave a Reply